• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Awards 2014 President's Book Award

2014 President's Book Award

Print PDF

The Social Science History Association announces the annual President's Book Award of $1000 for a new manuscript. The prize rewards an especially meritorious first work by a beginning scholar.

Scholars who have a previously-published book are not eligible for this award. Entrants will be judged on the criteria of scholarly significance, interdisciplinary reach, and methodological innovativeness, within the broad category of monographs analyzing past structures and events and change over time. SSHA invites studies of family and demography, popular mentalities, political economy, state-society relationships, electoral and legislative behavior, and the history of the social and behavioral sciences; other substantive realms may also be represented. The Association includes in consideration theoretically-informed accounts examined from quantitative, interpretive, and other perspectives.

Manuscripts can be under consideration by a press at the time of submission to the award committee but must not be in print before the prize is awarded (this year, in November). A letter from the press stating that the manuscript will not be published before December 2014 is required. A manuscript may only be submitted for this award once; manuscripts that were submitted in an earlier year but are not yet in print are not allowed.

Announcement of the winner of the 2014 President’s Book Award will be made at the November 2014 meeting of the Social Science History Association in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Award Committee:

Timothy Cuff, History, Westminster College
John Murray, Economics, Rhodes College
Lisa Stampnitsky, Charles Warren Center for Studies in American History, Harvard University


Entries must be received by July 15, 2014.

To submit a book for the President's Book Award competition, please send 5 (five) copies of your book, as follows :  

send 2 (two) copies to: William C. Block
Executive Director
Social Science History Association
391 Pine Tree Road
Ithaca, NY 14850
send 1 (one) copy to: Timothy Cuff, PhD
Associate Professor of History
Disciplinary Coordinator, History
320 Patterson Hall, Westminster College
319 S. Market Street
New Wilmington, PA 16172-0001
send 1 (one) copy to: John Murray
Department of Economics--Buckman Hall
2000 North Parkway
Rhodes College
Memphis, TN 38112
send 1 (one) copy to: Yiching Wu
60 August Ave
Toronto, Ontario



Organizing Powers

Images of the SSHA